Scholarship Awards

PowerGen awards $85,000 in scholarships

“Partnering to generate powerful minds through education”, this is the theme of PowerGen’s Scholarship Awards Programme. This commitment was reaffirmed on Monday 15th November 2010, when PowerGen held its Scholarship Awards Breakfast at The Courtyard by Marriott, to distribute $85,000.00 in academic bursaries for the 2010/2011 academic year.

A total of ten students from the University of the West Indies and YTEPP were
honoured on this occasion having satisified the requirements of good academic
performance and other specific criteria.

This year’s recipient of PowerGen’s Internal Technical Scholarship is Brandon Yorke son of Mr. Andrew Yorke, an employee of the Point Lisas Power Station. Brandon is pursuing a degree in Physics from the University of the West Indies.

In attendance at the award ceremony were specially invited guests, Ms. Zorina Spicer, Manager- Public Affairs, YTEPP; Ms. Bernice Passé, Diego Martin Centre Manager, YTEPP; Dr. Paula Morgan, Chairman Campus Committee, Undergraduate Awards -UWI; and Ms. Beverly Beckles, CEO, National Centre for Persons with Disabilities. The event was also attended by our General Manager, Mr. Garth Chatoor, our Legal and Regulatory Affairs Director, Mrs. Joy Ramlogan, and our Manager, Human Resources and Administration, Ms. Sonya Lequay.

In her address to the awardees, Ms. Lequay encouraged students to develop not only academically but holistically. She acknowledged that “If we are to make the future of our country brighter, we must do what we can to invest in the upcoming leaders and drivers of our national economy - our youth”.

Avikash Harriram, a 2010 Scholarship recipient, spoke of the honour he felt to be chosen to receive a PowerGen scholarship. He pledged to strive for excellence in the pursuit of his academic goals.  

The representatives from each of the partnering organizations mentioned above also received donation cheques and plaques of appreciation for their long-standing determination to generate powerful minds through education.

Pannist, Derron Ellies, provided the entertainment for the function with an outstanding pan interlude.

With a constant understanding of the need for corporate citizenship, our academic bursaries form part of a suite of PowerGen initiatives with a long term objective of making a meaningful contribution to society.

UWI Scholarship recipients:

  • Avikash Harriram    - Year 2
  • Jameel Khan  - Year 2
  • Adam Khan - Year 3
  • Christopher Ramnauth  -Year 4

Internal Technical Scholarship 2010/2011:

Brandon Yorke

YTEPP Scholarship recipients 2010/2011:

  • David Richards
  • Adisa Britton
  • Shantell Forde
  • Jailone Jervis
  • Darrel Alexander