About Powergen

About Us

THE POWER GENERATION COMPANY OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO LIMITED, commonly called PowerGen, was established on December 23rd, 1994 and is a joint venture company created out of the partial divestment of The Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC).

The shareholders of the Company are The Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission(T&TEC) (51%), Maru Energy Trinidad, LLC of Marietta, Georgia (39%) and National Enterprises Limited (NEL) Power Holdings Limited (NPHL), of Trinidad and Tobago (10%).

The generation assets of T&TEC which were divested in 1994, currently represent the backbone of POWERGEN’s operations. The main function of PowerGen is to generate power for supply in bulk form to T&TEC who in turn breaks the power down to lower voltages for distribution to their industrial, commercial and residential customers.

POWERGEN now owns, operates and maintains the three power stations at Port-of-Spain (308 megawatts), Point Lisas (852 megawatts), and Penal (236 megawatts). POWERGEN’s three power stations have a total installed capacity of 1386 megawatts, consisting of 23 generating units, which are natural gas fired. In the case of the Port-of-Spain Power Station, the generating units can operate either by oil or by gas firing.